Watercolor sketching supplies

During 2019 I was painting a lot together with my friend Lina, but also our friend Alejandra joined us a couple of times. Our journey started at the Old Botanical Garden of Göttingen and then expanded to other parts of the city and its surroundings.  

While painting, we were wondering what one needs to have the perfect sketching set. We started with the basic supplies, like a watercolor box and a sketchbook, a bottle of water and brushes…  and of course a piece of cloth to clean the brushes. With time, my supplies evolved to a very complete “equipment” but then I had a lot of things to carry.

Most of the time we were standing while sketching, so we thought we needed something to carry out our supplies, and at the same time something where they were easily accessible while standing. 

So, I sewed my old pants into a practical bag, to take advantage of the waist belt and its several bags. While my friend Ale sewed a complementary and beautiful brush case for me. I don’t remember how I came up with this idea, but my husband told me it was nothing new, as the barbers and the gardeners already use something similar.

 I also customized one for my sketching friend.

I really love this personalized bag, and having all my supplies ready to go, so that I can enjoy my sketching time outside!

My supplies

Basics:

  • Watercolor box
  • Watercolor sketchbook
  • Brushes in different sizes
  • Recipient for water
  • Cloth

Extra (not always needed but very useful):

  • Watercolor pencils
  • Pencils
  • Eraser (Kneaded)
  • Sharpener
  • Pens and markers
  • Masking fluid
  • White marker (with opaque water-based paint)
  • Inkliner
  • Spray bottle 
  • Tape
  • Water brush pen
  • Binder clips
  • Additional:
  • Bruhs case
  • Logo stamp
  • Extra bottle of water

Sketching outside with friends is something I really miss.

Sketching at the Old botanical garden in Göttingen (2019).

This is a perfect set for when I know I will have at least one hour to paint. I do have more sets for painting outside, I will show you in my next post.

I hope this can inspire you!

Leave a comment